Hydraulic bike lift.

As we own a number of bikes, and I do all the servicing and work on them myself, A hydraulic bike lift has been one of the best things that I have invested in. It was a standard lift with some minor modifications. The first mod was to drill a hole on each side of the platform and insert a long bolt so that I can strap any bike to the lift before elevating. The second mod was to remove the very poor design of front wheel holder and fit my Constand wheel chock. This makes positioning a bike very simple and a one man job. Here is the standard lift.

one

I have a pair of magnetic screw trays at the front for placing fairing screws in.

When I was working on the Ducati ST2 starter the other day I found that the biggest problem with working under a bike is the light. There are florescent tubes on the garage ceiling, but that is not much use. I could fit the same to the lift, but they break easily and they need 230 volts, which I don’t want in my work area.

I ordered a 5 metre strip of waterproof, self stick, 5050 LEDs from ebay for less than £8, LINK HERE.  These can be cut to any length and I stuck 1.8 metres on each side of the bike lift.

tworh

threelh

These are connected to a small 2 amp 12v wall transformer, but will eventually be powered by a small battery fitted under the front of the lift, with switches to switch either or both sides on.

eight

fiverear

sixrear

seven

Some of the pictures look very poor quality, that is due to the camera trying to compensate for the brightness of the LEDs.

Thank you Will in Ireland for giving me the idea!

 

2 thoughts on “Hydraulic bike lift.

  1. Gary March 18, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    Hi Bob, nice lighting mod you have there 🙂
    By the way what is the red solid round bar type bracket you have on the front of your workbench in front of the wheel chock? Just curious what purpose it serves.

    Regards,
    Gary

    Like

    • rouffignac March 18, 2016 / 4:46 pm

      Hi Gary. The bracket is the front wheel stop. When I bought the lift this was fitted along with a vice type thing to clamp the front wheel in. It was rubbish, the bike had to be wheeled onto the ramp, put on the side stand and then held upright while the clamp was squeezed onto the tyre.
      I took it off and put the chock stand on instead. The chock stand is only held with one bolt, but at least the bike can now be parked as a one man simple operation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

